Daytona Speedway Post

Daytona Speedway Post

The Daytona 500 is a NASCAR Sprint held each year in the middle or end of February, Sunday on the Daytona circuit, which is located in Florida. This restrictor place race features 200 laps that amount to about 500 miles. It celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2008.

Commonly called "The Great American Race" and "Super Bowl of Stock Car Racing", it is considered by many to be the event the most illustrious and distinguished on the NASCAR schedule. The notation is similar to the average of the races of the Sprint Cup. Its importance can be judged by the fact that it the opening match annual NASCAR events, instead of being held at the end of the year as other events by excellence. Since 1995 he has been posting the highest ratings for auto racing of all kinds on American television, surpassing the odds of Indianapolis 500 which has a higher attendance track. In 2006 Daytona 500 attracted an audience of over 20 million which was the average sixth largest broadcast television this year.

Sacks Trophy winner Harley J. Earl in Victory Lane and the winning car is on display for an entire year to the Daytona 500 Experience, which is a museum next to the track at Daytona.

Earlier this race took place on the sand and the highway that is adjacent to the beach. Instead of 500 it originally covered 200 miles that have ran into cattle cars that were dress with wipers and radiators to withstand the sands. But since 1959 it has been replaced by 500 miles. Hence the name "Daytona 500" he has taken since 1961.

The Daytona 500 race held in 2000 was shocking results. Johnny Benson was leading until he was caught by Dale Jarrett because of a restart only four laps remaining. It led to an advance for Jarrett maintained in the remaining rounds and successfully captures its third Daytona 500 title.

Editing 2007 Daytona 500 race for the first time featured a foreign addition in the form of Toyota. This race took place six years after the death of Dale Earnhardt. The race was completed by two Toyotas of all who competed in the race. The 2005 winner Dale Jarrett finished 23rd with Waltrip finishing at 30. Tony Stewart was initially the first race fell because of a crash with Kurt Busch. The accident is considered similar to the accident that led to the sad end Dale Earnhardt. But fortunately, the two candidates have managed to escape unharmed.

The 2008 Daytona 500, the race celebrated the 50th anniversary race which was first published in 1959. The Golden Jubilee has seen the inclusion of the NASCAR car of tomorrow for the first time in the race after its introduction in 2007. It was also the first race held under the banner of the "Sprint Cup" after the merger Sprint and Nextel, which took place in 2005.

For more information please visit:

About the Author:

Pamela is the lover of sports and all sports games. She loves to write about sports. She works for SportsTicketsGuide ( and OnlineTicketSpot (

Article Source: ArticlesBase.comDaytona 500

[affmage source=”amazon” results=”3″]Daytona Speedway Post[/affmage]
[affmage source=”overstock” results=”2″]Daytona Speedway Post[/affmage]
[affmage source=”cj” results=”2″]Daytona Speedway Post[/affmage]
[affmage source=”clickbank” results=”3″]Daytona Speedway Post[/affmage]

  1. No comments yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.